Vic Premier’s Literary Awards 2010 announced

September 29, 2010

That darn Peter Temple is on a roll! Well done to Peter and indeed all of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards winners for 2010.  A big congrats especially to Kirsty Eagar who won the Prize for Young Adult Fiction for her debut novel Raw Blue.

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction
Raw Blue, Kirsty Eagar, Penguin

Judge’s comments: Raw Blue is a wonderfully assured novel that takes the reader from the stagnant aftermath of trauma to the subtle beginnings of recovery. Carly has dropped out of uni and works a monotonous kitchen job in order to devote the rest of her time to her real passion – surfing. Riding the bright skin of the ocean is where Carly belongs, and is the only place where she can begin to escape what happened to her two years ago at Schoolies. Raw Blue packs an unsentimental punch that is not easily forgotten.

A well-deserved prize for Raw Blue. Right now at the office we’re loving Kirsty’s newest book, Saltwater Vampires.

Here’s the full list of award winners:

The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
Truth, Peter Temple, Text Publishing

The Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction
Reading by Moonlight: How Books Saved a Life, Brenda Walker, Penguin

The CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry
Possession, Anna Kerdijk Nicholson, Five Islands Press

The Louis Esson Prize for Drama
And No More Shall We Part, Tom Holloway, A Bit Of Argy Bargy

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction
Raw Blue,
Kirsty Eagar, Penguin

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate
“Seeing Truganini”, David Hansen, Australian Book Review

The Prize for a First Book of History
Becoming African Americans: Black Public Life in Harlem, 1919-1939, Clare Corbould, Harvard University Press

The Prize for Indigenous Writing
Legacy, Larissa Behrendt, University of Queensland Press

The John Curtain Prize for Journalism
Who Killed Mr Ward?, Janine Cohen and Liz Jackson, Four Corners, ABC Television

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer
House of Sticks, Peggy Frew

Head to The Wheeler Centre for the rest of the  judges comments and prize money details.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: